WCG logo

 


SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MAILING LIST

 
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

About WCG Comics

WCG Comics logoWCG Comics is the publishing imprint and studio name for cartoonist Randy Reynaldo, publisher-writer-artist of the comic-book series Rob Hanes Adventures.

WCG Comics officially began publishing in 1990 with a digest-sized zine called Adventure Strip Digest. Four issues of the zine were published before the series was launched in 1994 as a full-size independent comic-book series under the same title. After four issues, the title was relaunched in October 2000 as Rob Hanes Adventures.

In addition to the regular series, two trade paperback collections to date have been released: the Rob Hanes Archives, which collects the early zine stories of the series and was funded by a Xeric Foundation grant in 1996; and in 2010, Rob Hanes Adventures, Vol. 0, which collects issues 1 to 4 of Adventure Strip Digest in digital remastered form. (See our online store for details about these titles.)

For more information, see the Complete History of WCG or check out the WCG Comics Checklist!


About Randy Reynaldo

Photo of Randy ReynaldoCartoonist Randy Reynaldo is a past Xeric Foundation award recipient and nominee of the Russ Manning Award for Most Promising Newcomer, which is presented in conjunction with the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards.

Randy is the writer, artist and creator of Rob Hanes Adventures, a contemporary comic-book action-adventure series in the tradition of Will Eisner's Spirit, Roy Crane's Buz Sawyer, and Milton Caniff's Terry and the Pirates. The series has been described by critics as a "grown-up Jonny Quest," and been compared to Tintin, James Bond, and Indiana Jones.

Rob Hanes Adventures is an independent comic-book series published under Randy's WCG Comics imprint. Two trade paperback collections of earlier stories that predate the current series have also been published to date: the Rob Hanes Archives and Rob Hanes Adventures, Vol. 0. Randy's work has appeared in several anthologies, including Love in Tights #2 (Slave Labor Graphics), Negative Burn #30 and 39 (Caliber Comics), and Wolff & Byrd #7 (pinup for Exhibit A Press).

Randy's high-contrast black-and-white art has been compared to master comic-strip storytellers like Milton Caniff and Alex Toth, and earned him extensive coverage and numerous positive accolades from critics and industry trade publications like the Comic Buyer's Guide, Wizard, Back Issue, and indy. More recently, Randy and Rob Hanes Adventures have been also profiled, reviewed and featured on wired.com, Comic Book Resources, Newsarama. He also has been interviewed on "Talk Audio Soup," a public radio show devoted to popular culture.

In 1995, Randy received a Xeric Foundation Award and was nominated for the Russ Manning Award, which is awarded annually in conjunction with the Eisner Awards at the Comic-Con International in San Diego. The Xeric Grant made possible the Rob Hanes Archives, a trade paperback collection of early and previously unpublished work from the series. Randy also is a member of the Southern California-based Cartoon Arts Professional Society (CAPS), for which he has served multiple times as vice president and treasurer.

Born and raised in New York City, Randy now lives and works in Southern California. He is married to Dr. Sadina Reynaldo. The couple have two children.

See the Checklist for a full list of Randy's work. An archive of published interviews is also available.

Click here to see Randy's Lambiek comiclopedia profile.


Acknowledgements

Special recognition to the WCG Comics bullpen: Bob Westal, Scott Brick, Sidney Terence Cooper, Terry Delegeane, David Gordy, Mike Meyer, and Rodney Reynaldo. Many of these people are also fellow Immortals.

Finally, of course, my deepest love and gratitude to my wife for her love, support, guidance, and editorial input, and for producing two beautiful children with me.